

Majlis Perundingan Malaysia Agama Buddha, Kristian, Hindu, Sikh dan Tao

Malaysian Consultative Council of Buddhism Christianity, Hinduism, Sikhism and Taoism

123 ,Jalan Berhala, Brickfields, 50470 Kuala Lumpur. Tel: 03-2273 9304 Fax: 03-2273 9307 Email: mccbchst@yahoo.com Website:http://harmonymalaysia.wordpress.com

MCCBCHST SUPPORTS STATEMENT OF FORMER IGP

The Malaysian Consultative Council of Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Sikhism and Taoism (MCCBCHST) fully supports the timely reminder by our former IGP Abdul Rahim bin Mohd Noor (Free Malaysia Today –by Tracy Patrick 20/09/17) that Malaysia was never meant to be an Islamic State or to have an official religion.

MCCBCHST has consistently stated in the past that:-

- (i) When Malaya gained Independence in 1957 and when Malaysia was formed in 1963, that there was no consideration or proposal for Malaya or Malaysia to be an Islamic Country.
- (ii) Our forefathers had clearly envisioned Malaysia to be based on secular laws.
- (iii) That it would be unconstitutional and an attack on the "Core fabric" of the Constitution if one were to aspire for it to be an Islamic Country based on Islamic Laws including Hudud Offences.

We further support the following said by the former IGP:

- (a) "The Federation of Malaysia was never meant to be an Islamic Country because if it was, Sabah and Sarawak would never have agreed to it."
- (b) "The people in the Borneo State, all of them, regardless of race and religion did not want an official religion."

(c) "That there was a frightening trend among the ruling elites, they are bending over backwards and submitting to the will of those who use religion to garner support from increasingly religious masses."

MCCBCHST calls on Malaysians to respect and abide by the founding principles on which Malaysia was formed and to be a nation based on Secular Laws was agreed upon.

Adhering to this founding principles will ensure a strong and united Malaysia that would be able to meet the challenges of the 21st Century with confidence.

Dated: 25 September 2017

Ven. Dato' Seri Jit Heng

Presiden

Archbishop Julian Leow Naib Presiden

Daozhang Tan Hoe Chieow

Naib Presiden

Datuk R.S. Mohan Shan Timbalan Presiden

Sardar Jagir Singh Naib Presiden

En. Prematilaka KD Serisena

Setiausaha Agung